3D Cakes in Singapore

The largest cake ever to grace mydearbakes? – Guarantees to feed an army of hungry guests


Looking for a perfect elegant looking cake for your once in life time wedding?

Looking for a cake that can satisfies all the 3,000  odd guests (OK, maybe a little exaggerating) that you are going to invite to your wedding?

If you are nodding your head, saying oh,yes! to the above questions then, look no further for the answer can be found within this post! =)

Our post here today shares with you the 2nd cake that we have learned from Sharon Wee.

It’s a 2 or 3 (depending on how you see it) tier wedding cake. The weight of this cake – unbelievable. mydearbakes’ arms was aching for the entire week, after just moving this cake back to home from Artistiq .

Completed version and one of the views.

Will be letting the pictures do the talking.

So, just sit back, relax and enjoy the pictures! =)

The top view

We have here, a bottom up shot =)

Close up – top of the cake

A close up on the lovely flower =)

Decided to add actual flowers to the wedding cake and turns out quite nicely too =)

Our last pic for the post is dedicated to the “butterflies” whose presence made our wedding cake looked more elegant and graceful. =)

And so, that’s about all we have for the 2nd cake we learned from Sharon. We certainly hope that you enjoyed viewing our latest post.

The wedding cake we have here can actually served up to 30 pax but what’s your take?

Judging from the size, do you think our wedding cake can serve up to 40 pax?

Do share with us your views on this and stay tuned for our next post where mydearbakes will showcase her cutest creation! =P

75 thoughts on “The largest cake ever to grace mydearbakes? – Guarantees to feed an army of hungry guests

  1. Thanks for stopping by. I love the work on this one, simple always manages to make a big statement! Beautiful.

  2. I love this cake it is so cute. I love the butterflies, I was wondering what you had made them out of? Is it just normal regal icing/ready roll or is it something more substantial like sugar paste or flower paste? I am currently making my own wedding cake and although we have butterfly decorations and butterflies in the flowers I am yet to do any for the cake. It was intact this post that made me think of putting butterflies on the cake. Any advice as to the best materials to use?
    Thanks and I love your blog.

    • Hi kimmiebee,

      The butterflies were made from gum paste as it dries out harder and so will hold their shapes =)
      I used a butterfly cutter to cut out the shapes and fold them into a v-shape and put them on folded cardboard until it dries out. We do have a few people asking us on how we made the butterflies so we may probably do a tutorial on it !

      Lastly, thanks once again for swinging by our blog! =)

  3. I have always thought that creating flowers to decorate cakes was something I would never dare to try. But your creations are so inspiring…. I might just try. I am curious, how long did it take you to do the decorations on this cake?

    • Hi afracooking!

      Alright, let me try to recall

      – the butterflies didn’t take much time since I used a cutter to cut out the shapes, and let it dry over night
      – the flowers took much longer as it was the first time I’m making sugar flowers. It took about 2 hours for me to cut out the flower petals, leaves, and to make the berries and fillers (I made enough for 4 flowers in case of breakages since it’s my first attempt). They are then left to dry over night. Assembling the 2 flowers took me also about 2 hours as I had problems taping the petals together.

      Hope that answers your question!
      Feel free to ask any questions pertaining to cake decorating! Will try to help you =)

  4. Great looking cake – I love the butterflies and the delicate holes in the wings. What was the cake inside? I’m guessing the bottom piece was layered to get that height.

    • Hi louise_m,
      The bottom tier cake is actually made up of 2 8″ cakes.
      For each cake, I’ve tort and ganached 3 layers per cake (so 6 layers altogether), hence giving the height.
      Hope that solves the mystery behind the tall cake for u. lol
      =)

    • Hi Rhonda Sittig!

      I would imagine it would be a lot of pressure baking wedding cakes. I’ve only been baking for friends and already I feel the stress, so I can imagine those baking them commercially.
      However, the sense of satisfaction always makes you feel that the effort you put in was worth it. You know, seeing the smile on the couple when they sees their wedding cake. – Priceless! =)

  5. wow..another winner! lovely! if anyone i know is looking for a beautiful elegant wedding cake to feed so many (haha), i will definitely recommend u. :)

  6. My goodness!!! the wedding cake is beautiful! and I love the flowers and butterflies. This is what makes me drive to do baking and decorating although I’m an absolute beginner. This expertise would take ages. I wish one fine day I can make a cake like that. Thank you for visiting my blog and keep in touch :D

    • Hi Cakeln,
      Thanks for swinging by!
      The bottom tier cake is actually made up of 2 8″ cakes.
      For each cake, I’ve tort and ganached 3 layers per cake (so 6 layers altogether), hence giving the height.
      Hope that solves the mystery behind the tall cake for u. =)

Leave a Reply

