General Musing

My week at NYC


Just back from a week at the Big Apple. My first trip to NYC and I had a fantastic time! I’m sure everyone has their list of things to do / see. Here’s mine :

#5 Take a ferry to Stratten Island and see the beautiful NYC skyline and of cos the Statue of Liberty

image

image

image

image

Oh don’t forget to stop by Battery Park before boarding the ferry for some close up shots of the squirrels. I’m surprised at their boldness. One scampered onto my arm and took a peek at my handbag! Must be looking for food lol

#4 Take a walk at Brooklyn Bridge
Part of the bridge is boarded up for repair works. Nonetheless, still makes a nice walk especially on a clear sunny day

image

image

image

image

image

view of Manhatten Bridge

#3 Times Square and Rockerfella Center
Not even new year’s eve and it was already packed with people. Reminds me of Shinjuku but a little more spontaneous and chaotic

image

image

image

M&M store:
image

image

Xmas tree at Rockerfella Centre
image

Ice skating at Rockerfella:
image

image

I thought the queue into M&Ms store was long well I was wrong. Check out the queue at Lego shop! =O

Oh and if you’re a fan of Cake Boss, they’re opening a 2nd cafe near Port Authority Bus Terminal:

image

image

Hmm think if I do visit NYC again I’ll visit Colette Peters Cakes and maybe take a class too =)

#2 Catch a musical at Broadway (heck catch a few)
I caught “Chaplin” at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre

image

It was a great production and the cast were very strong. Definitely interesting enough for me to go back google Chaplin to find out more

Also caught “Mama Mia” at the Winter Garden Theatre. The cast had really high energy level (though sound production wasn’t as good as “Chaplin’s) and audience was participative. Had a fun time =)

image

image

Inside of Winter Gardens Theatre before the show starts

#1 My no.1 to do : experience a snow storm the night before and walk around Central Park the next day =)

image
image
image
image

image
Hmm is this the same bridge as that in the movie “Enchanted”?

image
image
image

image
More squirrels and birds

image
Horse-drawn carriage rides

image
Alice in Wonderland sculpture

image
Ice skating at Central Park

And the icing on the cake : fireworks at central park on new year’s eve!
image

So here’s my list
What’s yours? I’d love to hear them =)

14 thoughts on “My week at NYC

  1. Looks like a fun time! Have not been in NY for years but agree with you totally on the ferry. Flights from the UK get in at the perfect time to make this a first evening ‘to do’ before crashing in your hotel room. I love to take city bus tours to get my bearings but the NY ferry beats that. Now i know Colette peters does classes I must plan a visit! I love her work and have her crafty online class – amazing.

    • I did have a fun time =) and I love Colette Peters works too (I was really disappointed I couldn’t stay long enough to attend any of her class or have time enough to plan a visit to her shop). Her 2013 schedule is out on her website – do check it out!

  2. I love the city! I lived there for 10 weeks during a summer internship. I loved just walking around Greenwich Village, kayaking (for free) on the Hudson, seeing Broadway shows, running in Central Park, and of course sampling NYC’s many fine restaurants. Thanks for your comment! I hope you get to return to the city!

    • Yes totally agree with you on that – the city really rocks, so vibrant with so many things to do, see and eat! I too hope I will get a chance to visit again, 1 week just isn’t enough!

  3. I haven’t been to NYC for many years now. I love that city. :) Thanks for sharing your pictures and your journey with us. I can’t believe the squirrel was so brave in the way they look for food. :)

Leave a Reply

